Go to Kentucky.gov home page
Kentucky Department of Revenue Kentucky Department of Revenue Kentucky Department of Revenue Kentucky Department of Revenue

Sales and Use Tax

Filing Information for Retailers Affected by Recent Storms

Due to the storms of Feb.29 – Mar. 2, 2012 President Obama has issued a major disaster declaration for the 23 counties in Kentucky listed below.  The Kentucky DOR advises taxpayers that have been affected by the disaster to continue filing their sales tax returns using the established due dates.  Thirty-day extensions are available upon request.  

Taxpayers who cannot locate their sales tax return and need a replacement may contact the DOR Division of Sales and Use Tax at 502-564-5170 (Option 1) for assistance.  Taxpayers who are having difficulty meeting filing deadlines for their sales tax returns can also contact the Division of Sales and Use Tax which will work with them on a case-by-case basis.

The IRS has information available regarding federal Disaster Assistance and Emergency Relief for Individuals and Businesses.  It is designed to help homeowners and businesses in a federally declared disaster area.  It can be found at http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=156138,00.html

For more information about any federal relief or extensions, taxpayers should visit the IRS website at www.irs.gov or call the IRS at 800-829-1040 for individuals. For businesses with federal tax-related questions, they should call the IRS at 800-829-4933.

The following counties are included in the disaster declaration:
Adair, Ballard, Bath, Campbell, Carroll, Grant, Grayson, Johnson, Kenton, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Magoffin, Martin, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Ohio, Pendleton, Rowan, Russell, Trimble, and Wolfe.

Click here Frequently Asked Questions


Last Updated 7/30/2013
Contact Us | Taxpayer Bill of Rights
Privacy | Security | Disclaimer | Accessibility Statement